Home  |  Contact Us
Court Services
Jury Selection & Jury Duty
Traffic Ticket Info
Marriage Licenses
Passports
Board Meetings & Financials
Frequently Asked Questions 
History of the Clerk's Office
Pay Child Support
Search Official Records
Notices & Disclosures
County Commission
Property Appraiser 
Tax Collector
Sheriffs Office
Supervisor of Elections 
City of Lake Butler
MyFlorida.com
Florida Department of Revenue
Florida Department of State
Florida Legislature
Florida State Courts
Florida Attorney General
FDLE
Florida Emergency Management
Florida Department of Highway Safety
Florida Veterans Affairs
USA.gov 
Passport Information
Internal Revenue Service
     
   

This information is meant to be a guide to Residential Eviction in Union County. THE UNION COUNTY CLERK OF CIRCUIT COURT CANNOT GIVE YOU LEGAL ADVICE. You may wish to consult an attorney to get the proper advice for your specific case.

 

WRITTEN NOTICE

Landlord must serve tenant with a WRITTEN notice giving the reason for eviction.

 

Landlord must KEEP A COPY for themselves, which will be filed with the eviction if the tenant fails to vacate.

 

One of the following notices must be delivered to the tenant personally or posted on the front door:

  • 3 Day Notice: Delinquent rent (days are working days, Monday – Friday, excluding day of service and holidays)

  • 7 Day Notice: Non-compliance (days are working days, Monday – Friday, excluding day of service and holidays)

  • 5 Day Notice: Lot Rent (tenant owns home but rents land)

  • 15 Day Notice: Landlord simply wants tenant to move (days are 15 straight days, including holidays, but excluding the day of service)

 

FILING AN EVICTION WITH THE COURT

After landlord gives written notice to vacate and tenant’s time has expired, the landlord must file an Eviction Complaint.   Evictions are filed with the Clerk of Court.  The landlord must pay $185.00* to the Clerk’s office at the time of filing, plus $10.00* for each summons issued.  There is also a fee of $40.00* made payable to the Union County Sheriffs Office to have the tenant served.  At the time of filing, the landlord must provide a copy of the rental agreement and a copy of the written notice previously delivered to the tenant.

 

The clerk will issue a 5-day summons that the Sheriff with serve.  This gives the tenant 5 working days (excluding day served, weekends, holidays or days that the Clerk’s office is closed) to either vacate the premises or give a written response and pay the delinquent amount to the Clerk’s Office.  If the tenant pays money in the Court Registry and files answer to the Clerk, a hearing will be set in front of the County Judge as soon as possible.

 

If the tenant vacates within the 5 days, the landlord must file a Dismissal with the Clerk.

 

WRIT OF POSSESSION

If the tenant does not respond or vacate within the prescribed period of time based on the Default Final Judgment or Final Judgment, the landlord must return to the Clerk’s Office for a Writ of Possession.   A Writ of Possession is a final notice served by the Sheriff.  The Writ gives notice to the tenant and informs them that the Sheriff has been given an Order to remove them from the premises within 24 hours, if they fail to comply.  There is a $90.00 fee made payable to Union County Sheriffs Office to enforce the Writ.  

 

STANDARD EVICTION DOCUMENTS

Three Day Notice

Seven Day Notice

Complaint for Eviction and Past Due Rent

Complaint for Eviction

 

*FEES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE AS DIRECT BY STATE LEGISLATION. PLEASE CALL 386.496.3711 TO OBTAIN ACCURATE SERVICE FEES

     

Union County Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller
55 West Main Street, Room 103
Lake Butler, FL 32054 | (386) 496-3711
This page was updated on Wednesday, October 21, 2015